William & Elizabeth Jones Pavilion

Location: Young Street

William (1799-1879) and Elizabeth Hughes (1803-1859) Jones built a home near this spot. As a skilled stonecutter, William carved the first moonstone for the original Nauvoo temple. He worked on the temple until the exterior work was finished. Elizabeth was active in the Relief Society, supporting the temple builders and their families. The Jones family went West when the Saints left Nauvoo. They eventually settled in California, where William continued to be a stonecutter.

Click on the links below to experience a 360° Walk-through, view an Image Gallery, or schedule a Virtual Tour.

Image Gallery

Peek inside as you scroll through our Image Gallery.

previous arrow
Slide 1
Pavilion
Descriptive panels at the pavilion explain the process for shaping limestone into temple blocks.
Slide 1
Stonecutter Demonstration
Visitors will be able to watch demonstrations for how limestone is shaped.
Slide 1
Limestone Quarry
Two main quarries supplied limestone to the stonecutters. This one is north of the temple district, but it is no longer in use as a quarry.
next arrow
Slide 1
Slide 1
Slide 1
previous arrow
next arrow